What Are The Minimum Insurance Requirements In Texas?
The minimum insurance requirements in Texas are $30,000 per person per incident up to $60,000. That means that each person driving on the road is supposed to have an insurance policy that will pay someone whom they injure up to $30,000. It will also pay if there are two people in the car or even three, four or five, up to $60,000 divided between all the occupants of the vehicle. That is not a lot of money in the scheme of things. Especially if you are seriously injured, and spend much time in the hospital. One of the most beneficial types of insurance that you can have is UI/UIM or Under Insured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage. That is insurance that you buy for yourself and your family that will help pay the bills in the event that the person who hits you does not have enough insurance or they are completely uninsured.
What Types Of Compensation Does Someone Have If They Have Been In An Auto Accident With An Under Insured Or Uninsured Motorist?
Your rights are going to be the same no matter what. The real question will be whether there is the availability of you being able to seek compensation because of the person being uninsured or underinsured? That is why it is so important to have that type of coverage that you purchase for yourself. Unfortunately in Texas, the minimum limits are $30,000. Most drivers who have insurance at all will only have $30,000. Therefore if you are seriously injured, the availability of UI/UIM coverage becomes extremely important. It is amazing how many people are still on the roads that still do not have any insurance what so ever.
If you are seriously injured in an automobile accident, and you do not have uninsured or under-insured motorist coverage, and the at-fault party has no insurance or even minimum limits, then that is all you are going to see from the result of any lawsuit or any claim that has been made. That is why it is imperative to protect yourself against the negligence of other people. Uninsured motorist coverage is some of the cheapest insurance that you can buy. While it may not seem cheap, it is cheaper than most insurance coverages and it is something that you really need to have in the event that you are a loved one is seriously injured in a car crash.
What Should Someone Do If They Discovered That The Other Driver Who Hit Them Does Not Have Insurance Or Is Underinsured? What Are Some Of The Things That They Can Do To Protect Themselves?
The thing that you do to protect yourself is to buy UI/UIM coverage. You are going to have to still establish the liability of the person who hit you and then turn around and make the claim against your own insurance company for UI/UIM coverage to apply. It is not an easy process and most insurance companies will fight their own insured by trying to minimize the claim. They nearly always assert that you were not really hurt, it was a preexisting injury or you are a malingerer. Your own insurance company will often times fight that the other party was not liable for the accident and therefore UI/UIM does not apply. It is a very complicated process and that is another reason why you absolutely need to a hire a board certified personal injury lawyer in order to help you navigate these treacherous waters.
Get Answers to Common Questions about Underinsured / Uninsured Motorists in Texas or call the Parker Law Firm for a Complimentary Personal Injury Strategy Session at (817) 503-9200 and get the information and legal answers you’re seeking.